Social Butterflies


Travis McCoy’s Debut Solo Album, Lazarus Streaming Online
June 5, 2010, 11:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Travis McCoy’s new album, Lazarus, is streaming on Myspace leading up to the launch this month of which the former Gym Class Hero’s star is very excited about.

Currently touring with 3OH!3 and Cobra Starship, Travie commented on the album saying:

“It’s hard to put a stamp on the record. With anything I do, it’s hard to categorize it. With any project, I just go in and blindly start writing songs and then find out which way we want to go with it. This one took a bit longer to find the lane,” he said. “It was a year in the making. … We thought we had found the lane, then I started doing other sh–. Now that it’s done and I’ve listened to it a bunch of times, I’ll say that it’s got a pop appeal … the songs will appeal to a broader range of people as opposed to the hip-hop crowd or conventional GCH crowd.”

Initially, the songs on Lazarus reflected the dark times in McCoy’s life … inspired mainly by his breakup with his longtime girlfriend, Katy Perry. But in the months following the split, he said he found a new outlook on life. And the new songs he wrote reflected that shift.

“A lot of the music started off pretty dark and introspective, but now a lot of the records are happy. I stopped being so bitter about my life and situations,” McCoy said. “I hate going back to this, but I went through a breakup, so a lot of records were bitter in the beginning. Sad and mad about sh–, but then I found a median with myself. I realized I don’t have it that bad, so I figured, why dampen the mood with sad  records?”

“I’ve always wanted this album to come out in the summer, because that’s when most of the memorable music drops,” he said. “You want music to have a good time to, music to connect to. You wanna play it at the party.”


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Travis McCoy’s Debut Solo Album, Lazarus Streaming Online « Social Butterflies […]

Pingback by wedding-secrets.info » Blog Archive » Ian & Allison Camp Engagement Shoot II




Leave a Reply

