Social Butterflies


Disney Demands Gemma Arterton Lose Weight
May 15, 2010, 12:43 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Gemma Arterton may be a gorgeous movie star, appearing in the big summer blockbuster “Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time,” But the size 6 actress still faces scrutiny from weight-obsessed Hollywood.

The actress who also starred in “Clash of the Titans” and “Quantum of Solace” tells the the U.K. Daily Mail, “Occasionally, I come home and say to my fiance, ‘I feel really fat.'”

“He says, ‘Will you just listen to yourself? You know you’re being silly.’ And I do know that when I’m home, but in the business it’s different.”

The 24-year-old star says that film execs from Disney’s “Prince of Persia” told her what not to eat after she was photographed with a double chin last year.

While filming the movie, she admitted, “They sent me to a personal trainer, wanted to get my teeth done, hair extensions, make me look like somebody else. And that’s fine… I became the thing they wanted me to be for the part.”

“But I don’t agree with what they think is beautiful because it’s not me,” she says. “Unless you’re really famous and successful then they’re going to bully you into going to the gym. It’s a side of the industry that I find uncomfortable.”

But it’s not just film execs who pick her apart, it’s also the thin-obsessed fashion industry. She explains, “I went to a designer the other day — who will remain nameless — and he said to me: ‘I’m amazed that you’re fitting into these sample sizes.'”

To which she replied: “I’m a size (U.K) eight to ten! I should be amazed that the largest you’re making these is a size six.”


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

wow…
she’s like the prettiest person and yea…not fair…

Comment by Eva-la

Double chin ? It just her shape of face,i know cause i got very similar chin and lower part of the face, although I’m thinner than she is, (skinny actually) I look like I’m about to have double chin if i put on some weight.

Comment by sia

Getting your teeth done and longer your hair doesnt’t make anyone look like somebody else! Plastic job does – especially those ‘invasive’ like changing entirely shape of you nose or cheeks .And they are so common among the celebrities that we acctually can never know much of what we see is a real person . I think Gemma is exceptionally natural in comparison to other female celebrities

Comment by ming




Leave a Reply

