Social Butterflies


Owl City’s Adam Young Talks About ‘Fireflies,’ ‘Ocean Eyes’ and More
April 7, 2010, 7:51 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

Owl City is currently taking over America with LIGHTS on their sold out co-headlining tour, but the singer admits, that his life hasn’t sunk in yet.

From JSYK:: Adam Young better known as Owl City,  has a lot to celebrate. The Minnesota native’s second album ‘Ocean Eyes’ was recently certified platinum, selling over 1 million copies in the U.S., and the first single from the record, ‘Fireflies,’ has surpassed the 3 million sales mark. 

“It’s pretty surreal,” Adam says of his success. “Having written the song just for fun in my parents basement, never did I think it would go as big as it has.”

Although city-living has its allure, the 24-year-old singer-songwriter still calls Owatonna, Minn. his home, and attributes much of his achievement to his Midwestern roots. “My hometown has been responsible for preserving a lot of innocence that comes through my music, because I hadn’t ever been to a big city…” he says. “It’s great. I think I’ll be there for a while.”

Adam even drew inspiration from his quiet town when he wrote his hit single ‘Fireflies.’ He explains: “One late night not being able to sleep, I was writing some music and I sort of wanted to translate the sparkly dream visual of the southern Minnesota countryside dusk, you know, how it’s all lit up. I kind of wanted to translate that into music.”


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

