Social Butterflies


Is Dakota Fanning Growing Up Too Fast?
March 23, 2010, 3:55 am
Filed under: dakota fanning | Tags:

While playing ’70s rocker Cherie Currie in ‘The Runaways,’ Dakota Fanning shot scenes where her character gets high, struts around a stage in a corset and stockings, has sex in a backstage dressing room, and shares an intimate kiss with bandmate Joan Jett (Kristen Stewart). A few months later, Fanning turned 16.

Fanning has made a career of playing girls in extreme situations who have maturity thrust upon them early, from mothering mentally challenged dad Sean Penn when she was just 7 in ‘I Am Sam,’ to playing a 12-year-old rape victim in ‘Hounddog,’ to reenacting the excesses of 15-year-old rock star Currie in ‘Runaways.’ While critics have praised her talent and precocity for years, Fanning keeps pushing the shock envelope with each performance. With the release of her most extreme role yet, observers have been asking if Fanning has grown up too fast.

By all accounts, Fanning lives the normal life of a 16-year-old girl off-screen (well, as normal as can be for a girl who’s been an A-list movie star for most of her short life): she loves horses and dogs and is a member of her high school cheerleading squad. Onscreen, however, she’s faced one trauma after another, including kidnapping, rape, murder and alien invasion, in performances that elicit harrowing emotions while displaying the icy professional aplomb usually associated with much more experienced adult actors.

While promoting ‘The Runaways,’ Fanning has been asked many times whether she’s not too young even to pretend to engage in the kinds of behavior shown in the film. (That the actress was the same age as Currie was when she started with the band doesn’t seem like an excuse.) Fanning’s response is always some variation on what she told Moviefone:

” For me because people have seen me grow up since I was six, I think people feel like they own a part of me in a way. That’s completely understandable because now I’m 16, so it’s been 10 years from when I was a little girl. I’m not grown up yet but I’m a lot older, and I think sometimes people don’t want to see you in certain positions. But you have to understand I’m an actress and I’m going to do all different things and it’s not me personally. It’s just a movie and it’s just acting. I’m not too good to be in that position because so many young girls are in worse positions than what I could do in a movie.”



2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love what you are wearing it’s soooo nice!

Comment by Anita

she isn´t beautiful, she is a lion,

Comment by july




Leave a Reply

