Social Butterflies


Zooey Deschanel on her band, She and Him
March 21, 2010, 1:42 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

Zooey Deschanel most recently remembered for her role in 500 Days Of Summer dished to TimesOnline on her band, She and Him.

“I’m a pretty low-key person,” she offers, almost by way of apology for her reserved attitude. “I don’t attract attention to myself if I don’t have anything to say. I feel like if you’re on stage or you’re doing a movie, you’re there because you have something to share. If I don’t have that, then I’m not gonna say, ‘Hey everyone, look at me.’ That would make me very nervous.”

This reticence is to blame for Deschanel’s musical talent going undiscovered for such a long time. By 2005, having landed roles in movies such as Almost Famous, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and Elf, the Los Angeles native had carved out a reputation for herself as one of America’s brightest young actresses.

“There was a time when I was doing five or six movies a year, and it was too much,” she recalls. “I must admit that I’m still a little burnt out from that.”

A different creative outlet presented itself when her role in The Go-Getter, a largely ignored film from 2007, paired Deschanel with the singer-songwriter M Ward.

Having collaborated with Ward via email, Deschanel finally plucked up the courage to air her songs to an audience. “I remember walking into the studio at [the occasional bassist] Mike Coyken dall’s house for the first time,” she says. “Matt and Mike were both, like, ‘Okay, here’s the piano and here’s the vocal mic. Off you go.’

“That was me in my most vulnerable state — that experience of sitting in a room and presenting something you’ve done completely on your own is so different to what I’m used to.

“I fell into acting when I was young, and in that environment you’re usually working with a big group of people — if you take a fall, you all fall together. Whereas, when it comes to songs that I’ve written by myself, there’s something that’s thrilling and at the same time terrifying about playing them for someone that you really admire. My doing that for Matt took a lot of gumption.”

The hard work paid off as She & Him are playing this year’s South By Southwest which is currently taking place in Austin as well as bringing in great reviews for their latest musical releases.


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I just donwloaded 500days of summer, moreover in english (yyesss!), at last, I will see this movie, and who is Matthew Gray Gubler 🙂

Comment by Alice

haha matthew gray gubler is an actor…and my celebrity crush. I like how you saw he’s in it, haha. it’s a small role but he is still worth watching in it. It’s a great movie in my opinion, let me know what you think of it after!

Comment by SocialButterflies

i love them…(she&him);D

Comment by Eva-la




Leave a Reply

